Kreuzjochhaus

Historical Facts and Figures

The origin of our lodge can be traced back to the mid-19th century. In the course of redesigning and up-to-date modernization, this grand heritage has strongly been preserved. Our house is still a mountain lodge, admittedly a bit more luxuriously than than it would have been imageined in the 19th century. What was good then, though, is even better today, e.g. the use of local, sustainable and enduring materials, a building consistent with its natural environment and our highly skilled local craftsmen and artisans. 

 

1861
A fields map from 1861 shows that prospecting activities took place on the site that is today the location of our Kreuzjochhaus. The area was marked royal Bavarian state forest reachable crossing the Kreuzalm.

1926
In the ancient address directory of Garmisch-Partenkrichen "Barbarahütte" (Barbara lodge) was registered, a wellknown restaurant and hostel for hikers and skiers. 

1937
The Barbarahütte became the Kreuzjochhaus while a neighbouring, newly built place received the name Barbarahütte. During WWII (1939-45) the Kreuzjochhaus was used by the mountain artillery regiment 79 from Landsberg as a training camp. 


1950
In summer new residents moved in at Kreuzjochhaus and the place became the new home to the "NaturFreunde Deutschland e. V.“ (German association of nature protection and research) for the following 30 years.

 
1981
The Kreuzjochhaus was acquired by the local administration of Trier and Trier Savings Bank as a leisure lodge. The "NaturFreunde Deutschland e. V.“ retained ownership of the Barbarahütte.

1999
Carolin Pohl and Barbara Schellhammer akquired the Kreuzjochhaus and transformed it into an event lodge to start alpine tours from there. 

2010
In the spring of 2010 the Holzhey family purchased the lodge and started to modernize it creating one of the most beautiful event locations for tourists and corporations as it is today.